Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at APC.

APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V

APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Review 1 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bearister
Location:College Park, MD
Customer Type:Government, Education, Publicly-funded Organization
Role:Systems Integration/Engineering
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Always thinks the battery is dead
Date:March 27, 2014
About every two weeks this unit will suddenly think the battery is dead. This simply isn't true, and the unit will function perfectly even during a power outage, but it will beep and indicate on the display as if the battery is dead. The only way to reset it is to power down the unit and power it back up again. When it runs the startup test the battery passes and everything is fine. I have about 15 of these units that I purchased at the same time, and at least 5 of them have the same behavior. It is frustrating, annoying, improper behavior and there is no way to fix it.
Response from APC:By APC Product SupportCCCApril 7, 2014
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we apologize for any inconvenience they have caused. Please contact our support team at your earliest convenience and we will be happy to help resolve these issues.

http://www.apc.com/site/support/
Review 2 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fred
Location:Portland, MI
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Role:Owners
Product application:Residential Solutions: Audio Visual (SV)
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Excellent product
Date:April 12, 2011
I've had the BR1500LCD for nearly two years now and just recently transferred it from my old workstation to my new workstation. I have another APC UPS system installed on our other system that has been in service for over 5 years. I trust the APC brandname and have been very satisfied with their performance in keeping my workstations functioning on an even keel. Replacing batteries is a snap.
Review 3 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mav448
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Role:CEO
Product application:Residential Solutions: Surge Protection
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Back-ups RS 1500VA LCD Purchase
Date:August 2, 2010
I've owned an APC BackUp unit for a number of years. I just turned this one in for credit on an upgrade. The process was easy, questions were answered promptly, my new unit has been put to the test already and performed as expected so I'm very satisfied. The return of the old unit with a prepaid shipping label was quick and easy. It was easier for me because I had kept the original unit's box and inside packing (call me retentive), but that made the process really easy. If I didn't have that box it would have been more difficult to ship that heavy, bulky unit back to the Returns Center. So, save the box you may want to upgrade someday with APC!
Review 4 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deb
Location:FL
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Role:Other
Product application:Machine Automation and Control: Concept and design
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Excellent Purchase Ever
Date:July 30, 2010
Customer service and Technical support are wonderful to talk to, especially they speak ENGLISH. They know what you need. Best of all, this product is made in the USA. Living in FL the power surges are frequent with or without a storm. Working on the computer while designing, the Back-UPS gives me time to save my artwork and shut down the computer the proper way. Customer service is AWESOME!
Review 5 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cyggy
Location:Southern NH
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Role:Owners
Product application:Residential Solutions: UPS and Battery Replacement
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Solid UPS
Date:June 28, 2010
I purchased this to support my Mac Pro Tower. It is currently handling around 450W load well. Estimates a 10 minute up-time. That covers nearly all of the power outages and brown-outs that occur in my area. It's not failed me yet.
Nice reporting of various critical information right from the screen in the front of the unit. Mac OS X (Snow Leopard) knows it is a UPS - although can not get the detailed information that Windows users can get. That's too bad. But Snow Leopard CAN see how much (percentage) of the UPS is left and 50% setting means that it will enable a clean shutdown easily.
Review 6 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CubeJumper
Location:Chicago, IL
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Product application:Residential Solutions: UPS and Battery Replacement
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Great purchase
Date:June 21, 2010
After trading in several small BackUPS ES units, the BackUPS RS has proven to be very reliable in our crazy, unreliable power environment in the Chicago area. If you need long-lasting UPS technology, go with the RS and forget the inferior ES models which all seem to fail within the first year.
Review 7 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Al
Location:Davie FL
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Role:Owners
Product application:Machine Automation and Control: Concept and design
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Great Product
Date:June 6, 2010
I bought this to replace my old Supply that was about 5 plus years old and it works beautifully. Living in the lightning capitol of the word, it is nice to know that your equipment is safe and so is your data.
Great Product!
Review 8 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greg
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Role:Engineering
Product application:Residential Solutions: Audio Visual (SV)
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Works as Advertized
Date:May 16, 2010
No problems, no issues...! All is exactly as expected.
Review 9 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engineer
Location:Tampa, FL
Customer Type:Small or Medium Business (less than 1000 employees)
Role:Engineering VP
Product application:Datacenter & IT Infrastructure: UPS (Single Phase)
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Nice Units
Date:February 14, 2010
We have installed these on multiple CAD workstations and they have been great. The LCD display is very useful.
Review 10 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Centech
Location:Rhode Island and Connecticut
Customer Type:Small or Medium Business (less than 1000 employees)
Role:President
Product application:Datacenter & IT Infrastructure: UPS (Single Phase)
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Works as advertised
Date:January 11, 2010
I purchased this unit instead of the tower configuration because of its low profile. Didn't need or expect the LCD display, but now I like it because it shows just how low power can dip when another device, especially an electric motor, starts.
Plenty of outlets, but a couple of pigtail outlets for transformers would be nice.
Review 11 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SGMR
Location:Punta Gorda, FL
Customer Type:Other
Role:Other
Product application:Residential Solutions: Surge Protection
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Great Purchase
Date:January 10, 2010
I did a trade up from the Powerchute Personal Edition 2.2 Back-UPS LS 500 system. I am very happy with this product and would recommend it to my friends. I have been using APC products since 1998.
Review 12 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
protected
Location:Boyertown, PA
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Role:Owners
Product application:Residential Solutions: UPS and Battery Replacement
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Great Product
Date:November 3, 2009
This is the best UPC unit I have ever owned. Powerful. Convenient. Good Price. Great Value. They need to STOCK more of them!
Review 13 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TechNut
Location:Columbus, OH
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Role:Networking/Communications
Product application:Residential Solutions: Surge Protection
I've used this product(s) for:less than a month
Excellant UPS
Date:September 23, 2009
This product is excellent. Very quick and simple install - just plug it in. The software installed with the USB connection to the UPS without a hitch - I was surprised. The software is informational and in Windows XP there are little ballon pop-ups that tell you whenever you have switched to battery or A/C. Love the LCD display on the front. It gives you a lot of interesting stats like current watts being used, current load, and estimates battery run time using these stats. Great product so far APC. The true test is seeing how easy it is to get money under the $150,000 lifetime equipment protection the display on the box.
Review 14 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crash Overide
Location:Upstate, NY
Customer Type:Small or Medium Business (less than 1000 employees)
Role:President
Product application:Datacenter & IT Infrastructure: Professional Services
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
Solid as a brick
Date:July 30, 2009
...I bought this unit via TradeUPS to replace a lower powered unit on a mission-critical computer. The display window provides more info than the PowerChute PE software. Cannot stack items on top in the back because of vents; I do feel warm air rising from there. Hard to tell when unit is on when viewing the illuminated buttons from an angle. The buttons only shine directly forward.
...I have been using APC products since the late 1980's. They have kept the power to my computers stable through many thunderstorms and brownouts over the years.
Review 15 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dnukem
Location:DC
Customer Type:Government, Education, Publicly-funded Organization
Role:General IT Management
Product application:Datacenter & IT Infrastructure: Power Distribution
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
excellent buy
Date:May 6, 2009
perfect unit for the home office and for the businees that would like to have end-users pc's protected. LCD display is a great way to view the various UPS details without having to load any software.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zmlp
Location:Portland, OR
Customer Type:Home / Home Office Customer
Product application:Residential Solutions: Notebook PC & Mobile
I've used this product(s) for:over 5 years
RS 1500VA LCD 120V
Date:April 3, 2009
Two previous units, a 500VA (still in service w/ repl. battery), and a 650VA (in need of a repl. battery), have exceeded projected life by at least one year. New 1500VA unit has been in service for only two days but, fully expect it to meet expectations for solid, reliable service for projected life and, hopefully, more...